Preservation Awards 2022: Landmark Society is looking for nominees

ROCHESTER, NY (WROC) – The Landmark Society announced today that it is seeking nominations for its 2022 Preservation Awards. Prizes may be sourced from Rochester and all of its surrounding counties: Monroe, Genesee, Livingston, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates counties.

Each year, the Landmark Society states that it “gives awards to projects, individuals, and organizations who, through their dedication and hard work, have contributed to historic preservation in the organization’s nine-county region” .

The nominated awards are below:

Barber Conable Award

Recognizes the large-scale rehabilitation of a historic building in our area completed within the last two years, possibly with the assistance of the federal investment tax credit program. Old fabrics must be carefully maintained and carefully rehabilitated. New builds, if any, must be compatible and of high genuine quality. This award was created to honor Congressman Barber Conable of Alexander, Genesee County, who supported the creation of the federal Income-Generating Historic Building Rehabilitation Investment Tax Credit program.

Merit Award

Applies to projects similar to those eligible for the aforementioned Conable Prize, but on a smaller scale. The award is given for a sympathetic rehabilitation of a building, structure, object or site of architectural significance in our nine-county area completed within the last two years. The candidacy can be upgraded if the project is historically significant or if it strengthens its neighborhood. Prize cannot be awarded to single-family residences.

Stewardship Award

Recognizes an individual or organization that has provided ongoing care and commitment to the preservation of architecturally and/or historically significant public property over a period of years. “Care” may include appropriate changes to the building structure. Eligible properties include religious, educational, non-profit, commercial or government buildings, structures, objects or sites.

Historic House Price

Recognizes owners of private residences for their continued care and commitment to the preservation of an architecturally significant home for at least seven (7) years. “Care” may include appropriate rehabilitation and/or sympathetic new additions as needed. Thoughtful rehabilitation/restoration of the interior and/or significant features of a historic landscape can improve the quality of the nomination. The seven-year criteria may be waived in special circumstances deemed appropriate by the Awards Committee.

Historic Landscape Award

Recognizes and encourages the preservation, restoration, rehabilitation and stewardship of historically significant landscapes in the Landmark Society’s nine-county region. The recipient can be either an individual or an organization.

special quote

Provides recognition for projects that do not fit into other categories or recognizes the achievements in the field of historic preservation of an exceptional individual or group.

Traditional trades

Recognizes a person working in traditional trades for their exceptional knowledge of historic preservation techniques and the defense of historic buildings. These trades include, but are not limited to: stained glass, woodworking, pipe organ building, windows, masonry, roofing, and plaster.

Paul Malo Preservation Advocacy Award

Recognizes an individual who has been an outstanding advocate for historic preservation in their community. Created in honor of the late Paul Malo, a Syracuse University professor, architect, historian, award-winning author, and preservation advocate, whose passionate advocacy for New York’s historic resources spanned six decades.

Jean France Excellence Award

Recognizes an individual’s accomplishments that have occurred over a long period of time. The award was recently renamed in honor of Jean R. France, Trustee of the Landmark Society, accomplished architectural historian, passionate preservation advocate, community advocate, and longtime member and chair of the awards committee. of preservation. Jean died in early 2021.

Price of blood, sweat and tears

Recognizes building owners who have physically engaged in the preservation and restoration of their property through self-education and countless hours of DIY labor. Work on the building does not have to be completed, but must meet the Home Secretary’s rehabilitation standards and demonstrate substantial self-executed long-term care.

Small Business Award

Recognizes small businesses that occupy historic commercial buildings and have demonstrated a commitment to preservation through the maintenance, repair and/or long-term operation of these sites.

Awards must be submitted no later than Sunday, May 1 of that year. Nominations can be submitted here.

The Landmark Society of Western New York, Inc. is one of America’s oldest and most active preservation organizations, serving nine counties in Western New York. Since its inception in 1937, The Landmark Society has continued to protect our region’s unique architectural heritage and promote preservation and planning principles that promote healthy and sustainable communities.

For more information about The Landmark Society, visit Landmark Society programs are made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with support from the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature.

Comments are closed.