NASA Scientist for a Day winners announced


This year’s winners of the NASA Science for a Day competition are Sophie Ineson from Southland Girl’s High School (Grades 7 and 8) and
Lucie Mochel from Whangamata Area School (grade 9 and 10), the New Zealand Space Agency of the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) announced today.

The 2021 competition saw year 7-10 students challenged to learn about three moons of Uranus – Ariel, Oberon, and Titania, and then write an essay of no more than 300 words explaining which of those moons. they would like to explore with a robotic spaceship.

New Zealand Space Agency director Dr Peter Crabtree said the judges were blown away by the caliber of this year’s nominations.

“This year we were delighted with the number of high quality essays we received from over 40 New Zealand schools that participated.

“The NASA Science for a Day competition aims to encourage teachers to use space as a learning context throughout the program to provide students with a glimpse into the wonders of space.

“I would like to personally thank all of the teachers who worked tirelessly with these students to inspire and spark their interest in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) subjects.

“The space industry is an exciting field that offers career opportunities in a wide range of jobs and after reading these entries it is safe to say that the future of New Zealand’s space industry is in between very good ones. hands. Congratulations to everyone who participated.

The two winning students will receive a 6 “Sky-Watcher Dobsonian Telescope from Astronz and help from the Southland Astronomical Society to learn how to use them. Their essays will also be published on the NASA and Neo Space Agency websites. -Zeeland.

The competition was judged blindly with Sophie Ineson backing her victory from last year’s competition. Sophie kindly donated her telescope to the Deep Cove Trust where many students will go for their grade 8 school camp.

The New Zealand Space Agency would like to thank all students for their contributions.

© Scoop Media

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.